Wednesday, January 17, 2018

JD McPherson- "On The Lips" trippy new music video!

JD McPherson/ photo by Alysse Gafkjen
Check out this trippy-cool new music video for "On The Lips" from JD McPherson's latest album on New West Records, Undivided Heart & Soul!

Monday, January 15, 2018

Rockabilly N Blues Radio Hour 01-15-18

We start a new segment called "Heavy Hitter, Triple Threat" where we have a triple play including a legacy artist and 2 more acts covering that artist.  This time we hear "The Man In Black" Johnny Cash along with Cash covers from Raul Malo and Hayden Thompson.  We also get another Ameripolitan Music Awards spotlight with Levi Dexter, Mike Penny & His Moonshiners, The Rhyolite Sound, Charley Crockett and The Kokomo Kings.  Plus, hear NEW tunes from The Lincolns, Scotty Baker, Kyle Lacy & The Harlem River Noise, Kim Wilson, The Highjivers and rockers from Brenda Lee, Darrel Higham and more!!

Hear new episode here:

Intro Voice Over- Rob "Cool Daddy" Dempsey
Intro Music Bed:  Brian Setzer- "Rockabilly Blues"

Darrel Higham- "Save Me With Your Kiss"
Kyle Lacy & The Harlem River Noise- "Whiskey Blues"
Carl Perkins- "Rockin' Record Hop"
Charlie Feathers- "Get With It"
The Malpass Brothers- "Caught In The Middle"
Kim Wilson- "Mean Old Frisco"
The Highjivers- "I Can't Believe It"

Heavy Hitters, Triple Threat segment:
Johnny Cash- "Rollin' Free"
Raul Malo- "I Guess Things Happen That Way"
Hayden Thompson- "Hey Porter"

Ameripolitan Music Awards Spotlight:
Mike Penny & His Moonshiners- "Jump Jack Jump"
Levi Dexter & The Gretsch Brothers- "Oakie Boogie"
The Rhyolite Sound- "Too Late For Love"
Charley Crockett- "Night Train To Memphis"
The Kokomo Kings- "You Need A Little Dirt (To Make The Grass Grow)"

Scotty Baker- "Lady Killer"
The Lincolns- "Hundred Dollar Bill"
Brenda Lee- "The Stroll"

Outro Music Bed: Charlie Feathers- "Chicken Plucker"

Monday, January 8, 2018

Rockabilly N Blues Radio Hour 01-08-18

We begin a segment on the show this week called "Ameripolitan Music Awards Spotlight" where we will spin a track from some of the 2018 nominees.  We'll continue this throughout the year.  This week, we hear from Jenny Don't & The Spurs, Al Dual, Lily Locksmith, Kyle Eldridge and Andrea Coburn (with Mud Moseley).  Plus, we get new tracks from Cousin Harley, Billy Burnette, rockers from Elvis Presley, Chris Ruest, Celine Lee, BR549, Charlie Gracie, Dion, Gene Vincent, requests for Deke Dickerson and Lara Hope & The Ark-Tones, our instru-Mental Breakdown returns with John Fogerty and Gringo Motel and lots more!

Hear episode here:

Download all episodes on iTunes, stream on Google Play and iHeart Radio!

Intro Voice Over- Rob "Cool Daddy" Dempsey
Intro Music Bed:  Brian Setzer- "Rockabilly Blues"

Billy Burnette- "She's Burning The Honk Tonks Down"
Cousin Harley- "Cincinnati Lou"
Elvis Presley-  "Dixieland Rock"
Charlie Gracie- "Cool Baby"
Dion- "The Apollo King"
Deke Dickerson- "Bop Wax"
Lara Hope & The Ark-Tones- "I'm The One"
BR549- "No Train To Memphis"

instru-Mental Breakdown:
Gringo Motel- "Copy That"
John Fogerty- "Just Pickin'"

Ameripolitan Music Awards Spotlight:
Jenny Don't & The Spurs- "Paso Del Norte"
Lily Locksmith- "Player"
Andrea Colburn & Mud Moseley- "Dark River"
Kyle Eldridge- "Get Up & Leave This Town"
Al Dual- "Who Rocks The Chicken"

Celine Lee- "I'll See Ya...Never"
Gene Vincent- "Five Feet Of Lovin'"
Werly Fairburn- "Everybody's Rockin'"
Chris Ruest- "You Ain't Right"

Outro Music Bed:  Eddie Angel- "Dueces Wild"

Monday, January 1, 2018

JD McPherson interview/ Rockabilly N Blues 01-01-2018

JD McPherson/ Photo credit: Joshua Black Wilkins
JD McPherson is our guest on Rockabilly N Blues Radio Hour as we discuss moving to Nashville, recording at the historic RCA Studio B for his latest album on New West Records and a special request for Pat Cupp!  We'll hear tunes from JD's new album, songs he's performed on with Shovels & Rope and Pokey LaFarge, a track from the album he produced for The Cactus Blossoms and more!  Plus, we spin tracks from his band-mate Jimmy Sutton as well as Eddie Angel featuring his drummer Jason Smay!

Hear episode here:

Download all episodes on iTunes, stream on Google Play and iHeart Radio!

Intro Voice Over- Rob "Cool Daddy" Dempsey
Intro Music Bed:  Brian Setzer- "Rockabilly Blues"

JD McPherson- "Crazy Horse"
Interview segment 1
JD McPherson- "Undivided Heart & Soul"
Interview segment 2
JD McPherson & Pokey LaFarge- "Good Old Oklahoma"
The Starkweather Boys- "Little Mae"
Interview segment 3
*Roy Orbison- "Crying" snippet
JD McPherson- "Hunting For Sugar"
Shovels & Rope (with JD McPherson)- "Nobody Takes The Place Of You"
Interview segment 4
JD McPherson- "Bloodhound Rock"
Interview segment 5
*"Lucky Penny" snippet
The Cactus Blossoms- "Mississippi"
Interview segment 6
Pat Cupp- "I Guess It's Meant That Way"
Jimmy Sutton's Four Charms- "Up Jumped The Devil"
Eddie Angel- "So How Come (No One Loves Me)"

Outro Music Bed: Link Wray- "Heartbreak Hotel"

"Lucky Penny" music video

"Lucky Penny" on Conan

"Crying's Just A Thing You Do" live at KINK